Leicester Riders are Crowned BBL Champions March 31, 2013 19:09

The Leicester Riders have won the BBL Championship! They clinched the title after beating the Durham Wildcats 93-70 at home yesterday. 

The BBL Championship makes the Riders the proud owner of two pieces of silverware already this season. They won the BBL Cup Final back in January, taking the crown away from the Newcastle Eagles. The Eagles were also the BBL champions last year, and therefore will be handing the trophy over to the Riders. 

The win against the Wildcats was the Riders' 15th consecutive win in the BBL, and they have only lost 2 out of 29 games that they've played so far this year in the Championship. 

This win for the Riders is the first that the club has had in 46 years, since the club was founded. If the Riders can clinch the play-offs, it will also be the first time that the club has done the triple. 

With four regular season games left to play, the Riders, lead by Team GB Captain, Drew Sullivan, are on an all-time high. 

Riders coach, Rob Paternosto is understandably proud of his crew, saying; "It has been a long time coming, but my hat is off to this Rider's team. They have been just brilliant. The fixture pile-up has taken its toll over the last few weeks, but guys have stepped up and never let upon the intensity. They really deserve this Championship. The recent away wins at Manchester and Surrey has just epitomized their fighting spirit."

Congrats to all the guys on the Riders squad. It's been good to see a shake up in the BBL this season, and other teams picking up their game and challenging the titles.