Leicester Riders Take on Sheffield Sharks in BBL Trophy Final 2013 March 05, 2013 12:44

The teams have been decided for the BBL Trophy Final, which will take place on Saturday 9th March, at the Glasgow Emirates Arena. 

The Sheffield Sharks will take on the Leicester Riders to decide who will take the 2013 Trophy title. 

The Sheffield Sharks were the first to confirm their place in the final, as they knocked out the Cheshire Phoenix in the semi-finals, winning 176-134 on aggregate, after two legs.

The other semi-final, between the Leicester Riders and the Worcester Wolves was a lot closer. In the first leg of the final, the Riders took a 82 - 73 win, with Riders player Zaire Taylor scoring 29 points, with a perfect 8 of 8 free throws.  Alex Owumi of the Wolves also had 29 points in the game. 

The following night, the teams matched up on Riders turf on decide the winner. The Wolves fought hard, with another 29 point performance from Owumi, and became the first team to beat the Riders at home, with a 68-66 victory. However, that wasn't enough to take the Wolves into the final, with the Riders on 148 - 141 aggregate.

Last year the Newcastle Eagles beat the Plymouth Raiders to take the title, so it's great to see a lot of new blood on the court this year, to fight it out for the Trophy.