The NBA Summer League 2012 is Going to be Bigger than Ever June 15, 2012 10:57

We're still firmly in the grasp of the playoff finals at the moment, with the Miami Heat now level at a game a piece with the Oklahoma City Thunder, in what could be one of the most exciting finals that we've seen in a long time. But what happens when the finals are over? Where do we go for our basketball fix? The answer is, the NBA Summer League!

This year, the NBA Summer League, which will be held in Las Vegas, has attracted a record-breaking 24 teams, which will compete in a 60 game schedule in July. 

The Summer League will showcase 13 of the top 14 picks in this year's NBA Draft, making it an exciting off-season event. The League tips off on 13th July with the Atlanta Hawks taking on the Washington Wizards. 

The NBA Summer League is particularly noted for the fact that six out of the last seven NBA Rookie of the Year Award winners have played for their teams in Las Vegas. Those include Chris Paul (New Orleans Hornets), Brandon Roy (Portland Trail Blazers), Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City Thunder), Tyreke Evans (Sacramento Kings), Blake Griffin (LA Clippers) and Kyrie Irving (Cleveland Cavaliers) for their respective years. 

The event was launched in 2004 as the Las Vegas Summer League, with just six participating teams (Boston Celtics, Cleveland Cavaliers, Denver Nuggets, Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns and Washington Wizards). The NBA got involved properly in 2007, helping the event to boom in terms of participation, and interest. 

The teams that you can see this year in the NBA Summer League are:
  • Atlanta Hawks
  • Boston Celtics
  • Charlotte Bobcats
  • Chicago Bulls
  • Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Dallas Mavericks
  • Denver Nuggets
  • Golden State Warriors
  • Houston Rockets
  • Los Angeles Clippers
  • Los Angeles Lakers
  • Memphis Grizzlies
  • Miami Heat
  • Milwaukee Bucks
  • Minnesota Timberwolves
  • NBA D-League Select
  • New Orleans Hornets
  • New York Knicks
  • Phoenix Suns
  • Portland Trail Blazers
  • San Antonio Spurs
  • Toronto Raptors
  • Washington Wizards